Gricha Symphony

The music of a vineyard.

Music composed by Marina Pikoul


The Gricha symphony is an art project created to honour Quinta da Gricha’s unique terroir.

Walking along the vineyards and being inspired to interpret the vine trellises as natural music staves, a joyful and harmonious symphony was composed, which defines the character and the true nature of Quinta da Gricha.

Download Music


During a couple of  months the composer, Marina Pikoul,   followed the grape development  and  growth  in the vines of the  different areas (talhoes) of the vineyard.


By the time of the flowering, Marina personally identified the different grapes and interpreted their position as notes in a music staff.


14 musicians from different countries were involved, conducted by David Lloyd.

David Lloyd – Violin | Richard Tomes – Violin | Nancy Frederick – Violin | Roumiana Badeva – Violin | Mateusz Stasto – Viola | Hazel Veitch – Viola | Nikolai Gimaletdinov – cello | Sharon Kinder – cello | Aldo Salvetti – Oboe | Alexander Auer – Flute | Carlos Alves – Clarinet | Gavin Hill – Bassoon | Nuno Vaz – French horn | Natasha Pikoul – Piano


In mid July the musicians performed the symphony at Quinta da Gricha in front of the fountain that gave the property its name.

It is this performance that we are pleased to present to you now.

The Composer

Churchill’s worked with composer Marina Pikoul and a group of 14 musicians to translate the humble beauty of the vineyards into music.

Marina was born in Orel, Russia. She studied at the Central Music School of Moscow Conservatory for gifted children with Yuri Smirnov Tverskoy (piano) and Tatiana Chudova (composition).

After graduating from the Tchaikovsky Conservatory, she travelled to Paris and continued her studies at the Conservatoire National Superieur de Musique.

Since 1994 she has been teaching in Portugal and composed numerous symphonies which have been played all over the world.

She is the co-composer with Natalia Pikoul of the opera “Bells of the Apple Tree”, “In Memory of Dawn” by Artur Caldeira and Orquestra Nacional and “Dreams and Portals” solo guitar, among others.

Other compositions of Marina have been performed in Russia, UK, USA, France, Japan and Portugal.

Download Music Staff

Visit Gricha

Quinta da Gricha offers a unique opportunity to enjoy the very best of the Douro. Stay with us in our charming residence and immerse yourself in a world of secular heritage with scenic vineyards.

Learn More

Social Media

stay in touch with us


Your Cart